Sleep

Today I’ll earn an iota of the greatness destined,
Take another step forward, get an inch closer,
Today I’ll acquire yet another piece of life’s puzzle,
Reach the next level in the treasure hunt for success.

For now, however, I shall sleep.

Time has formulated the rules of this game, let me still challenge it.
It expects me to concede, it holds the cheat codes after all.
Victory is assured, it feels, oh but honey, there are more ways to win than one.
I will structure my own future, trick the trickster known as fate.
Reach my own customized paradise, fabricate my own space.

For now, however, I shall sleep.

The clarity of my bubble has turned rival to the dew.
The ardent urge to succeed overwhelming,
It stabs at my spirit with a force that cannot be construed,
A sting unbearable, yet somehow cardinal.
I shall, I will, I must win this race.

For now, however, I shall sleep.

4 thoughts on “Sleep

Add yours

  1. I just love this portion so much
    ” Victory is assured, it feels, oh but honey, there are more ways to win than one.
    I will structure my own future, trick the trickster known as fate.”
    Wonderful! And thank you for liking every stupid post of mine! ♡

    Like

    1. Haha, thank you so much. I was grinning like a fool while writing those lines, mainly because I was using poetry to avoid sleeping in a really boring lecture. :’)
      And, lady, you have no idea how talented you are! I eagerly wait for your posts because they are amazing. đŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true! Happens!
        Well, honestly… you were the first to like my posts and I was so excited and this excitement that you created actually got me really writing. Thank you so much! (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑