Sweet Heartache

There is a sanguine elegance in the inevitability of heartache,
A jovial melancholy in me falling without expecting you to catch.
My heart feels sturdier, affections seem immaculate,
Somehow not tainted by the impending sorrow.
Perhaps this was what I’d been waiting for all along,
My soul yearned to be taught how to love, and now it knew.
It is twisted how I want my heart’s wishes to be denied.
For love fizzles away, the pang of heartbreak stays. Always.
And I want your memory to reside in the sublime garden of nostalgia.
So I shall hold on to you…
by letting you go.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Heartache

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

