Haven Of Monsters, Angels Dare Not

“Happy Birthday little Angel!”,He exclaimed, words losing their splendour when He saw her face.
Were these the eyes of His dear one, He wondered, since, of joy, they had no trace.
“What is the matter dear one, are you unwell, perhaps tired,
Or are you enraged ‘cause of that one angel I fired??
Perchance wondering what your birthday present would be,
But do not fret little girl ‘cause you see…
I’ve got the one thing you wished you’d got-
A chance to live with the human lot
on their earth, or if rightly said- mine,
a chance to live and a chance to shine.”

“ Oh no Dear Father, Oh no please don’t!
I value my bliss and the stakes are too high.
No longer, dear Father, is this the earth You owned,
It’s an abyss of monsters and villains, deceit and lie!
Believe me Father , that’s what they do,
Oh Heavens! Dear God, have You indeed got no clue??
It’s no longer a benign sanctuary for women, let alone a naive angel like me.
Everyday they’re bruised, they’re hit, they’re ‘bused, everyday I see…
Everyday they fight, they cry, they scream, they screech, everyday I see…
Everyday they get a death worse than death itself , Everyday I see…
Oh so dear Father, how can this world be for me?

Give me, if you may, a baby unicorn, that certainly would suffice,
Anything but the risk of an earth life will do, as is easy to surmise.
Oh what a glorious world it once was..!
Its little wonders made us do the usual ‘oh’s and ‘awe’s,
The rest of the angels as well as me, Earth was where we’d aspired to be,
Now, though, a gift as such is so frightening, a flower instead will keep me satisfied,
But please Oh God, make no mentions of such ill fortune… for I will be petrified!
‘Cause Oh Father, It’s no longer a benign sanctuary for women, let alone a naive angel like me
Everyday they get a death worse than death itself . . . Everyday I see…

2 thoughts on “Haven Of Monsters, Angels Dare Not

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

